Fairwell to Telegram

S R Gaur, 55, works inside the Central Telegraph Office in New Delhi July 10, 2013. Somesh Jha New Delhi

“Love of my life STOP will you marry me STOP”, reads a telegram sent out on Friday from the Central Telegraph Office (CTO) here. With the service set to end on Monday, the CTO here saw a lot of people coming in to send their first telegram ever.

“I am here to send my first telegram to my parents, wishing them on their anniversary,” said Siddharth Tiwari, who was in the queue, “and this – the 160-year-old piece of history – would be the best form of expression.”

Some were there to be a part of history. “Since I came to know the telegram service is coming to a halt, I thought I should be a part of the legacy, and can show it to my children someday,” said Ashwini Chadda, who was also standing in the queue to send a telegram.

Some people were seen taking photos from all corners of the telegraph office to have a piece of history for posterity.

Leave a Reply

